How can we help?
Popular Searches
  • 09 Apr 2023
  • Source : ADSC

Safiya Al Sayegh crowned fastest female cyclist and Salem Al Shemaili champion of the Ramadan MyWhoosh cycling challenge

The My Whoosh Ramadan community challenge, organised by Abu Dhabi Sports Council in cooperation with My Whoosh on Friday and Saturday, April 7 and 8 on Al Hudayriat Island in Abu Dhabi, witnessed great successes, In Ramadan atmosphere, and strong competition among all participants.

The challenge, which came as part of the community sporting events organised by Abu Dhabi Sports Council to cultivate active lifestyles, achieved its primary goal of spreading the culture of cycling and expand its base of practitioners.

The race on Friday over a distance of 60 kilometres, in which Salem Al Shemaili of the Al Shaafar Jumeirah team was crowned winner.

Al Shemaili clocked 1 hour 18minutes and 13:23 seconds with Tariq Al Balooshi and Amer Al Dahmani, both from Abu Dhabi Cycling Club, finishing second and third respectively.

At the team level, the Abu Dhabi Cycling Club won first place from Al Shafar Jumeirah, and Transportation Security - Dubai.

The My Whoosh team took the first three spots in the women’s race. Safiya Al Sayegh was crowned winner, covering a distance of 50km race in a time of 1:24:01. Asma Belhamer and Marwa Salman took second and third respectively.

At the team level, My Whoosh Team bagged first place from Yasi Team and Al Shafar Jumeirah.

The awards and cash prizes were presented by Mohammed Sanad Al Qubaisi, Vice President of the UAE Cycling Federation, Al Nakhira Al Khaili, Executive Director of the Abu Dhabi Cycling Club, Ahmed Al Qubaisi, Executive Director of the Support Services Sector at the Abu Dhabi Sports Council, Suhail Al Arifi, Executive Director of the Events Sector at the Abu Dhabi Sports Council, Nasser Al Zaabi, Director of the Communications Office, and My Whoosh representatives.

A prize fund of Dh300,000 were awarded to the top 10 finishers for both men and women.

The winner of the men and women races each received Dh50,000 with the second and third taking away Dh30,000 and Dh20,000, respectively. From fourth to the ninth were presented Dh15,000, Dh10,000, Dh7,000, Dh5,000, Dh 4,000, Dh3,000, and from the 10th to the 15th were presented Dh1,000 each.